time and space

Today I felt like I was exactly where I needed to be. I have been so lucky to experience some amazing speakers as part of our program. Meghann O’Brien came by to share her weaving process. I was spellbound by her delicate treatment and combination of diverse issues like cultural appropriation, materialism, history and tradition and even physics. The way she talked about her journey towards traditional Chilkat and Ravenstail weaving and incorporating contemporary themes was very inspiring. Her fine detailed work and her commitment to her process struck me most.

Image from Meghann’s blog

I held this tiny, delicate cedar basket in the palm of my hand and I could feel how important attention to detail was to her and I was reminded to slow down, breathe and be aware of things a little more deeply.

Leave a Reply

