five senses friday

My boy is turning nine today. I can’t believe he’s been in my life for nine years! How did that happen? He continues to surprise, delight and perplex me. Usually all three at the same time. I don’t think I will ever know the full depths of his thoughts. I love so many things about him. His language. The way he observes the world and reports back with his words. He has a gift for saying it like it is. The way he can engage with  grown-ups and play gently with toddlers. He is amazing at seeing and growing beyond his own limitations. This year has been one of growth for him. His endurance and ability to overcome obstacles have been so inspiring. He is so much like me and yet so different. His creativity is bounded only by his age. I love his experiments. I believe he can make just about anything he puts his mind to. I feel so lucky to know him.

seeing: him turn an unhappy situation around

tasting: chocolate cupcakes with whipped cream

smelling: tempra paint

feeling: his big hugs

hearing: giggles

One response to “five senses friday

  1. Happy 9th Birthday to the Birthday Boy! How quickly time has flown! Enjoy your day and exciting year ahead!

Leave a Reply

