a gift for a young naturalist

This is my first attempt at a young naturalist bag for a certain someone turning nine. I used the pattern in Growing Up Sew Liberated. It was a pretty easy and quick sew. I really like the adjustable strap. I use some linen and heavy cotton that I had on hand.

This one is slightly too small for the field guides that I want to include. I love these guides. They are indestructible, portable, light and give just enough information for in the field exploring.

So it will likely go to little brother for an un-birthday present and I’ll adjust the pattern a couple of inches and make one for the birthday boy.

There are great suggestions for what to include in field bags here.

I found tweezers and small plastic containers to bring things home for further examination, a magnifying glass, some small vintage field guides for more details and a little sketch book for ours.

One response to “a gift for a young naturalist

  1. we got them both binoculars for Will’s birthday….before I saw this

Leave a Reply

