quiet chaos

It’s been a week of reflection and quiet, interspersed with sudden bouts of tears and pain. Yes, some of us are sick again and I’m learning to work with the new rhythm as I slow down to care for everyone. Having a sick child is bittersweet. Watching their little bodies fight off infection is so hard. I just want to get in there and fix it for them. In between moments of fever and tears there are moments of peace and quiet. They are still long enough to see them in a different way. He is brave, reflective, and tender in a way that I haven’t experienced before.

Watching them slow down encourages me to slow down a bit too. Being housebound, there is more nesting going on. I’m organizing and discarding in little ways. Cleansing the palette so to speak. Clearing out to make room for new ideas and creativity. It feels good. This week has been one big artist date in a way. I’ve found time for myself and cleared out a whole lot of supplies and things that were just not inspiring anymore. I feel ready to make again.

So instead of five senses Friday this week I’ll share with you my insight on the tools for happiness. We’ve been listening to a lot of audio books lately. It was during a Magic Treehouse session that I heard da Vinci talking about his secret to happiness – curiosity. It’s funny where inspiration hits. This spurred me to think about it more and I came up with this list, in no particular order.

  1. Curiosity
  2. Play
  3. Balance (proper sleep, healthy food, regular physical exercise)
  4. Mental exercise
  5. Awareness of self
  6. Letting go of what came before
  7. Self care

What do you think? Feel free to add more in the comments.

Happy, healthy weekend everyone.

Leave a Reply

