discovering gyo fujikawa

We recently headed over to the central branch of our library which boasts a large children’s area with plenty of diversions for children of all ages. I highly recommend it to any locals. I don’t know why we hadn’t been before. I guess our local branch is just so convenient and this one is downtown. Anyways, it was a lovely outing.

I managed to eke out a few minutes to peruse the stacks myself and found a sweet little volume called Fairy Tales and Fables. It has a great selection of old standards as well as some lesser known stories. But the best part are the illustrations.

Gyo Fujikawa worked alongside the likes of Mary Blair at Disney before heading out on her own to illustrate children’s books. Her work is very much of that time period but somehow contemporary too. They evoke a world that I would love to inhabit. I found these images of her work in various places online. Don’t you want to visit her world too?

Leave a Reply

