five senses friday makes a comeback and a give-away!

I’m sure missing those light-filled days of November captured here. Too much rain and grey skies here today. The little moose makes me smile.

On another note, I thought it might be nice to bring back the five senses Friday posts. I came across this idea from the ever-talented Abby. You can see an example and her explanation here. Don’t you just love her photos? I am always surprised by the stories she tells. I am a long way off from taking photos like hers but so inspired to try!

This year, I’m adding a little twist. Another of my goals for myself is to complete the Artist’s Way. If you are not familiar with this amazing book you really should pick it up or read the juicy bits online. It’s such a great way to get through blocks and open yourself up to creativity. As my writing teacher Francesca used to say, “better out than in!” So I thought why not combine five senses Friday with some of the Artist’s Way work.

Here’s how I plan to do it. Every Thursday I will go on an artist’s date. This is something that I am really looking forward too. An hour or two to myself without agenda or purpose. Solely meant to do something playful that nourishes my inner artist. On Fridays I’ll share it with you through the five senses.

So here’s where the give-away comes in. I’d love to hear from you about your experiences with nourishing your artist. What kinds of activities feed your artist? How do you play with your artist? Leave your thoughts and ideas in the comments along with your e-mail address. On Friday, January 14 the moose and I will randomly choose someone to receive a little something special handmade by me.

Edited to add:

Here’s a peek at the giveaway prize. It’s a cute little crayon/pencil/marker roll made from linen and cotton. It’s great for keeping little hands busy on outings.

Good luck!

Thanks for all the great ideas everyone! So nice to see what you all had to say.

Congratulations to Melanie who wrote:

For me I need to switch up my routine as much as I can. I like to walk, so I take different routes, force myself to go walking even when the weather is crappy, and go at different times of the day. A few months ago I went walking in the rain only to see the most intense rainbow I’d ever seen! Had I stayed in like I wanted to do, I would have missed it completely. Trying to look at the everyday with new eyes. That’s the challenge and the reward! ; )

I’ll get in touch with you today Melanie to organize the shipping. Happy weekend all!

15 responses to “five senses friday makes a comeback and a give-away!

  1. Pingback: five senses friday | Owl and Pussycat

  2. Pingback: only a few days left! | Owl and Pussycat

  3. Hi there. I love to create by messing my fingers with rainbow colours and wild imaginations. And one thing, small is beautiful. I always believe every stitch counts… Crafted with heart, that’s the core of all beautiful thing. πŸ™‚

  4. I’ve recently taken up spinning and am really enjoying seeing what different colours look like when spun together.

  5. Hello! My 4 year old would *love* to have something like this. She’s just discovering her artistic flair! I’d love to be able to throw something like this in my purse when we’re on the go! *smiles* ~Jen

  6. I make it a point to keep my “no”s in check. Often when I’m tired, or it’s late in the day and an invitation comes up to do something with a friend – I’ll find myself wanting to say “no”, to cuddle up on the couch with a book or a movie and turtle into my own cozy world. And I do that sometimes. But I find the more often I make myself say “yes”, the more interesting my life becomes. I see more art, meet more people, and try more things I may never have had the opportunity to try. This keeps feeding my artist brain- so I can better output my art! Thanks for making me think of this again, and find more fuel to say YES! Best of luck with you and your Artists Way path!
    jeny

  7. Hmm… Nourishing my artist. I would have to say that music feeds my artist. Music and being alone. Having kids I am sure you understand the need for alone time . Nothing better then 2-3 hours completely alone in my craft room with some good tunes. I can really zone in on my work .
    Loved the Artists Way, great way to focus on yourself and reconnect.

  8. For me I need to switch up my routine as much as I can. I like to walk, so I take different routes, force myself to go walking even when the weather is crappy, and go at different times of the day. A few months ago I went walking in the rain only to see the most intense rainbow I’d ever seen! Had I stayed in like I wanted to do, I would have missed it completely. Trying to look at the everyday with new eyes. That’s the challenge and the reward! ; )

  9. Interesting post! This is something I need to think about more often. I used to think of the artistic process more in the sense that it just ‘has to happen’ on it’s own but when you follow that line of thinking, sometimes you don’t create for months!

    1. Music is a must have for me (I actually just wrote a bit about that on my blog a few days ago): http://thistinder.blogspot.com/2011/01/music-for-painting.html

    2. I keep a journal of ideas … you never know when they’ll show up but you won’t be able to get to them so it’s good to be able to look back.

    3. Nature! Getting outside puts me in touch with something essential within my self and the world, which of course is the basis of art.

  10. you know, honestly, I often feel too bogged down by the daily trials to nourish my inner artist. I just made myself look at that Bill Moyers quote- “creativity is piercing the mundane to find the marvelous” and go down and do my glazing. I still feel bogged down, but at least that was spelled for a bit.

  11. Everything around me is absorbed by the artist in me, nature, people, and my fellow artists who share their work and love of art. Its the one thing that makes the world a small place, where we all speak the same language and we are all friends πŸ™‚

  12. I think creativity comes when you make time to create. So stop and take a breather, and your inner artist will thrive!

  13. Alone time is definitely good for my inner artist! … because then my mind can race and I can hear and see myself think! πŸ™‚ I love reading blogs for inspiration and just staring at the materials that I have on hand to try and come up with another way to create something with it. Also, whenever I travel I find that the artist side of me REALLY wants to come out – in photography, writing, crafts etc… being immersed in a new place is very inspiring for my inner artist!

  14. I feed my inner artist by having a mini-sketchpad (or blank reporter book) at ALL TIMES, and a) looking for inspiring, intriguing people on the SkyTrain or in a cafe to sketch in a covert fashion or b) sketch a sudden vision or image that comes to mind while doing work. I’ll jot down “blue” or “yellow” for colour schemes, and colour the whole thing with GIMP program when I get home, ideally around 7-8pm.

    And on feeding the inner artist: listen to music and envision a music video for it. Imagine how groovy something would look if it were a different colour scheme (purple sky instead of blue, red jeans). And hand-sew to improve concentration.

  15. Hmm… Well I just found another inner artist last month. Almost every night now, after the kid has gone to bed, I take out my supplies and make at least 1-2 pieces of jewelry. I like to play and figure out combos with my beads, see what relaxes me.

Leave a Reply

