birthday quilt

I finished the quilt just in time for Tuesday’s birthday celebration. This being my second quilt, I learned many more things again. This time it was all about my machine. I have a Pfaff Expression 2.0 and while I am an old school Pfaff girl, I have to admit this machine does have it’s quirks. Namely, never cut the threads unless the presser foot is up. This may seem obvious but when working in free motion it can be difficult to tell when the foot is up. If you don’t, you get a bird’s nest of thread on the back and it is quite a bit of work to clean it up. The other thing I learned is that the thread can sometimes jump off the take-up lever. Now this is really frustrating. My local Pfaff shop has been a great support on this. They are going to replace the lever as soon as they get some in. I’m still a Pfaff girl but I tell you it’s been challenging lately.

So back to the quilt itself. I thought I would wing it and then I picked up my copy of Last Minute Patchwork and Quilted Gifts and came across the Summer Breeze. It seemed like a good place to start so I improvised the rows to fit the batting that I had and just went from there. Mine really looks nothing like the Summer Breeze but it follows a similar piecing method. I quilted it using the eight hour method again, only this time using free motion to make the lines a bit more organic and wavy.

I can say that the blind-stitched binding was better and I was definitely more patient with the whole thing. I also continued with the idea of giving myself permission to just keep going and not worry to much about it. The proof is in the pudding. He LOVED it and sleeps with it every night. Isn’t that just what you want from a birthday quilt?

2 responses to “birthday quilt

  1. Congratulations on finishing your second quilt! It looks fabulous – nice work. I also just finished my second quilt and can totally empathize about giving yourself permission to get over the imperfections and just keep moving on. Here’s a link to my quilt if you’re interested: http://milkybeer.blogspot.com/2010/03/its-done.html

    • owlandpussycat

      Wow! Your quilt is amazing! It looks like a lot of piecing. It must have taken a long time to put together. It’s a great feeling when the little ones like them too!

Leave a Reply

