one step closer

A while back I posted about a quilt I was working on. Goodness, it’s been over a year and not much progress has happened since then. I have to admit, I am more than a bit intimidated by making something that large and permanent so I decided to make something a little smaller in scale to give me the courage to finish off that quilt.

floormat3

I also wanted to use up some scraps that I had lying around. So I started cutting three inch strips and sorting them into colour groupings. Then I cut out a piece of cotton batting to the size that I wanted and started laying bits on it to see how they would work together. Then I sewed strips from the three inch bits and made them about as long as the height of the batting. I made enough to cover the width. Once I had enough strips, I started sewing them all together until I had a piece of fabric the same dimensions as the batting. I stitched along the vertical seams to attach the pieced fabric to the batting and used a piece of cotton muslin for the backing. A quick top-stitch around the edges and voila! A cute little quilted mat for my kitchen sink.

floormat1

True, it is not exactly a traditional quilt, through all the layers and with a binding but I think that it’s small enough that the backing fabric shouldn’t slip too much. And it was pretty easy and quick to make. I think it took maybe 2 full days of cutting and sewing overall. I’m pretty happy with how it turned out. If I were to make another one, I might consider using more neutral fabrics to crate a calmer feel. For a busy family kitchen this one works just fine though.

Turns out I’m not the only one thinking of ways to use up fabric scraps. Sew Mama Sew is hosting a scrap busting month with lots of tutorials for scrap fabric projects.

I’m loving this cute little alphabet from chez beeper beebe

ScrapBusterContest44

and this drawstring bag from momonmo

ScrapBusterContest63

One response to “one step closer

  1. I love it. that’s my kind of quilt.

Leave a Reply

