rollin’ rollin’ rollin’

pencil roll

My camera is back! I’m still not quite sure if it’s all okay. It feels funny. I even thought it might not be mine. Maybe it’s just because I’ve been using a manual one for a while. At any rate, thought I would catch up with a little travel sewing project that went on while the camera was out of commission.

All the book making that we’ve been doing has provided an opportunity for an easy little travel set. I made up a couple of these pencil rolls for the boys to go along with some handmade books and tucked them in their backpacks.

We’ve been home for a couple of days now and we are still using them. It’s handy to have everything in one place and with easy access for toting into the backyard, and around the house.

The pattern came from Joelle Hoverson’s Last Minute Patchwork and Quilted Gifts. I needed a quick craft fix, so I made it out of one piece of fabric instead of a patchwork of coordinating colours. I modified the pattern a bit to make a smaller one to accommodate the younger ones shorter, stubbier pencils (similar to Lyra). In retrospect the unbleached cotton was maybe not the best choice of fabric. It’s getting pretty dirty fast. If I decide to make more, I’m thinking of using a darker linen or cotton.

A quick search on etsy came up with these cute rolls!

il_430xN.85185870

fromnanishands

il_430xN.55556813

melosupermarket

I love all the different interpretations!

2 responses to “rollin’ rollin’ rollin’

  1. They may get dirty, but I love how the colored pencils pop against the white background.

Leave a Reply

