tidying up

succulents

Usually, when I feel the urge to tidy up and add some little touches here and there, I look to my fabric stash. However, this week I have been foraging about for terrarium supplies but coming up short. Instead I’ve found succulents, grasses and even re-discovered some lady’s mantle cuttings from the yard. For some reason when I look at a sewing pattern I can see beyond the ugly floral print fabric on the front of the envelope to the crisp lines of a summer dress. Yet I have difficulty seeing beyond the banal plastic pots that you see at the garden centre and I’m always amazed at how much better the plants look in the garden or in little pots of my own. I’ve had these Martha Sturdy cubes for years just waiting for the right thing to put in them – these little guys just called to me at the farmer’s market this morning.

On another note, have you seen this? What fun! I would so dearly love to go. We are hoping to go to Portland in the fall but not the summer. I’m sorry I’m going to miss it.

Leave a Reply

