art centre

I’ve been inspired by so many blog posts about wonderful family art centres but it was this one that finally put me over the edge. Once I had seen it, I new we needed one.

artcentre3

For ours, I moved an existing ikea shelf into the kitchen for easy access and started filling it up. Here you can see a lower-case alphabet primer just in case we forget how to write a letter, some pospsicle sticks, and a big roll of duct tape. I included anything we might need except for scissors. I just couldn’t figure out how to do that with a one-year-old in the house.

artcentre11

One of my favourite bits from our Montessori experience was the way that art supplies were organized. So I used recycled baby food jars to house colour themed freshly sharpened pencils.

artcentre2

This is a recycled box. I pasted a piece of scrapbooking paper over the hole to make a cute little letter-writing centre. It’s filled with cards, notepaper, “stamps” (stickers), and envelopes. I have hopes of making a mailbox where we can post notes to each other.

One response to “art centre

  1. Pingback: more art at home «

Leave a Reply

