apple tart

A very full weekend. Now I am holding my breath and crossing my fingers that everything will turn out with some tricky things at home and nationally.

One of the highlights of the weekend was the apple custard tart thing that I made for the wee one’s birthday party. So yummy! I had forgotten how good it was. I wish I had a picture of it once it was baked and glazed. The last time I made it was about five years ago for the older one’s first birthday. The recipe is from here. But of course I have modified it slightly to accommodate some of our food issues. I still haven’t figured out a good substitute for wheat flour. Here’s my version:

Tea-Time Apple Treat (modified to accommodate a no/low refined sugar diet)

1/3 cup unrefined cane sugar (sucanat, turbinado etc.)

1 1/3 cups unbleached flour

1 tsp baking powder

pinch of salt

1 egg

1/4 cup vegetable oil

1/2 cup applesauce

1/4 cup plain yogurt

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

glaze ingredients: 4 tbsp apricot preserves, 1 tbsp lemon juice, 1 tbsp water

(I used a jar of homemade apricot jam because that was what I had in the house. This was the only refined sugar that I used but I’m sure you could get sugar-free preserves.)

3-4 apples, peeled, cored, and finely sliced

(I used a peeler, slicer, corer machine to achieve uniform slices)

– combine dry ingredients

– beat the egg with the wet ingredients

– add wet to dry and combine

– pour the batter into a greased, tart pan and arrange the apple slices over the top

– sprinkle the cinnamon over the apples and bake in a 350 degree oven for 35 minute

– make an apricot glaze by combining apricot preserves with water and lemon juice in a pan and heating over low heat for 1 minute

– strain glaze and pour over the apple slices

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

