are you ready to cook?

This cute little guy is a life size cutout of William that Peter made to display my aprons. I’m so happy with the way it turned out. When William saw it, I think he was pretty excited to have a model of himself. “Hey, I’m wearing an apron. Are you ready to cook?”, he said. I promised him he could have it when the show is over. We made the original drawing on a piece of art paper so we can always make another one.

We had a quiet weekend at home reconnecting as a family. With Peter’s hours, this seems to be a weekly occurrance. I don’t know what it’s going to be like when I start back to work in the fall. On Saturday, the boys and I trekked to the building supply store for new play sand. The neighbourhood cats finally infiltrated the covered sandbox. That’s what happens when you leave the cover off. I can’t believe what an impact that sandbox has on our lives. I think William uses it as a processing area where he can filter through the events of the day and sort out his feelings. There have been a lot of feelings around here lately so it’s really nice for him to have a special place all his own.

We are going through a bit of a rough patch with the food holiday. We’ve already had to reintroduce wholewheat in small amounts. However, the fruit popscicles that we made from local strawberries and fresh mangoes have been a real hit. I just pureed them in the blender with some bananas and a bit of juice and poured into popscicle molds. Yummy, sweet and no sugar.

On a crafty note, I got two fantastic books from the library this week. Like Simple Sewing which I love and use all the time for making gifts, Lotta Prints is full of lovely simple images. It’s also full of really practical tips for printing on all kinds of media. I’ve already got some fabric printing ideas in mind. Last Minute Patchwork and Quilted Gifts is also a great reference book with wonderful projects. I’ve already made a little quilted coaster and have started making a puzzle ball. There are some lovely examples of the puzzle ball here and here.

I love crafty goodness!

Leave a Reply

