sweetness

Well, I didn’t think it would happen, but our monster cupcakes made the finalist list for the sweets category in the Crafty Crow Funny Food Contest. It’s all very exciting. I think my favourite little food creation is the fruit bee. So cute!

Our family exploration into the world of whole foods continues. After two weeks we are all feeling the need for some sweets. So I modified my mom’s puffed wheat square recipe with great success. No wheat, dairy, corn or refined sugar was used in the making of these yummy squares.

Puffed Kamut Squares

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup turbinado sugar (sucanat would probably also work)
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 1/2 cup earth balance (butter substitute – this one is based in olive oil and has no trans fats)
  • 2 heaping tablespoons dutch cocoa
  • 6-8 cups puffed kamut

Method:

Combine all ingredients except kamut in a pot and heat until boiling. Allow to boil for one minute then pour over kamut puffs and stir until coated. Press mixture into a greased pan and allow to cool before cutting into squares. You can use the butter substitute to grease the pan too.

It’s important to let it cool first otherwise they get a bit crumbly. I learned this the hard way.

Oh, and the circus elephant was something I made for a sweet girl who loves purple elephants and hanging out with my little man.

2 responses to “sweetness

  1. looks like a good recipe, I bookmarked it so I can try it out when I find some time 🙂

  2. You are so smart! I am glad you figured out a recipe you can use, I know how much you like puffed wheat squares.

Leave a Reply

