sleep is for chumps

Another super busy weekend. Despite the fact that everyone is actually sleeping pretty well, I am more tired than ever. Every weekend seems to be packed with activities and to-dos leftover from the week. Am I going crazy or is this just the nature of parenting? I’m working on ways to slow down. Hopefully, with the end of preschool coming soon we will have more time to just be.

Our little photographer was given permission to “use” one of daddy’s polaroid cameras. Sadly, we don’t have any film left but he sure loves to explore all of the nooks and crannies, and take pictures of all of us. He doesn’t seem concerned about the lack of a final piece. I think it is helping him to explore the world more fully. He carried it around all day on Saturday

On Sunday we discovered a lovely new play centre/cafe created by a colleague of Peter’s. We intended to have a quick coffee before going for a hike in the woods but ended up staying for over two hours. I was inspired by the beautiful toys and the fantastic modern design. Most of them were supplied by a local online shop. Congratulations Ross and Rachel for creating such a child centred and parent friendly environment!

So that of course had led me to strengthen my resolve to reduce the amount of plastic in my home and work on some little and big fixer-upper projects.

In terms of playthings, I have decided to only buy natural materials with the exception of lego and playmobil. I haven’t been able to find that kind of play value out of wooden and cloth toys for older kids.

As for the house, I am inspired by environments like the ones found here and here. Clean, modern lines really seem to work for young families. I am planning to update our living room with vintage mid-century modern teak pieces and new paint. Not sure about the colour though. While I am drawn to white walls, they seem to take a real beating in our house full of little men. Of course once colours are finalized, I will be making throw pillow covers. I’m excited to use this llovely swedish fabric that came from here but is no longer in stock. I just need to find some nice linen to pair it with.

Since our kitchen is literally falling apart, we are going to update it with something like this with white cupboards, open uppers, and butcher-block counters. Just waiting for the next kitchen event.

Then there is the playroom. I am really looking forward to putting the boys in one room once Sacha is a little bigger. That will give us a bright extra room with doors leading out onto the deck to be transformed into a montessori-style playroom with lots of low open shelving, a reading nook, and hopefully a little wooden kitchen, something like this one but made by daddy.

Phew! No wonder our weekends are busy. So many ambitious plans.

2 responses to “sleep is for chumps

  1. I have a lovely mid-century console languishing under my carport. My little house is too small to house two of them (its twin lives in our den). I wish you could just pop over and pick it up!

  2. I have a lovely mid-century console languishing under my carport. My little house is too small to house two of them (its twin lives in our den). I wish you could just pop over and pick it up!

Leave a Reply

