hurdles

Anyone who knows me well knows that my ability to work easily with technology ended some time in the mid eighties. I can program a VCR with my eyes closed but give me anything manufactured after 1990 and I am useless. I’m not sure why I lost the ability to troubleshoot digital technology but there it is, everyone has their limitations.

So, while I was absolutely thrilled to receive a beautiful 13 inch macbook and airport express router for mother’s day, I have been more than a little frustrated with the process of getting it going. So much for plug and play. It has taken me over a week to get the things up and running. After numerous phone calls to Apple and my ISP, I am now writing from the comfort of my kitchen table where it is warm and sunny rather than in the slightly dark, and cold basement office. I am glad that I stuck it out and didn’t throw it all out the window like I wanted to. It’s been an awful week. I’ve felt bad, Peter’s felt bad and yet surprisingly none of the unhelpful people we spoke with felt bad. I was amazed at how little sympathy and understanding we received from the so-called support. Thankfully, I managed to get a very nice person at Apple and yet another one at Telus and now we are all good to go. Hooray!

On another note, I am working my way through this book and I’m having mixed results. The boule that I made this morning looks fabulous but what you can’t see from the picture is that it is only about the size of a large bun and hardly a loaf. Hopefully I can figure it out because some of the recipes look absolutely delicious and I’m excited to try a pain d’epi next.

One response to “hurdles

  1. Hi. I have to laugh about your technology prowess. I am just shy of a Luddite and thankfully my husband is a programmer or I would be typing on an old fashioned typewriter!

    As for your gorgeous, albeit small loaf, I may have a few suggestions for your next attempt. Just cut off a larger piece next time and shape it just as you did, let it rise longer before baking and you should have a loaf that is the right size for you.

    When you go to make your pan d’epi check out the pictures on how to shape it. http://www.artisanbreadinfive.com/?p=152

    Have fun and let me know how the next loaf comes out. Don’t forget to print out the errata sheet before you make your way through the book. http://zoebakes.com/?page_id=101

    Thanks for trying the bread! Zoë

Leave a Reply

