green and blue thumbs

Another busy weekend full of warm weather pursuits. On Friday night I whipped up these birthday shirts and some other crafty projects so that we could spend the weekend outside.

I love the flexibility of freezer paper stencils. They make you look like a genius and they are so fast and easy that any sleep-deprived mom can pull one off for a last minute birthday present. It’s become a bit of a tradition in our family to have a birthday t-shirt. It’s a nice reminder of what’s important when things get crazy on birthday party day. They also make great gifts. I think this year I will make some for Peter and I.

We planted the garden boxes!!! This was quite a feat. It took us a month from planning to final execution. It included two trips to a local compost supplier, at least three trips to the home & garden store, some swearing, some bruised thumbs and egos, and some deep cold on my back last night since I could not bend over. But it’s all planted up and here are the little tomato seedlings that we started indoors about a month ago. I think they were inside a little too long so we will see if they can handle it outside.

I made a cloche for each one from empty mineral water bottles; a trick that I learned from this book that I received as a birthday gift a few years ago. I love the projects in it and all of the little tips for creating a fabulous garden without spending a packet. I hope my little greenhouses keep our tomatoes safe.

Leave a Reply

