I’ve been everywhere

Another busy weekend full of birthday parties and excitement. Grandma and Grandpa came up from the Okanagan on Saturday to pick up William for a week at their house. He was so excited about going that he told everyone he met that he would be leaving for Vernon in a few days and they won’t be seeing him for a while. Here’s my little adventurer on his way out.

dscf0033.jpg

Before going away, William went to a birthday party for a dear little friend. Her favourite colours are purple, pink and lime green so I made an apron for her and wrapped it up in a matching tote bag that I made from a pattern in this book which I absolutely love. Lotta has such amazing simple designs that are easy and practical. I think I have made just about everything in the book. I only wish I could get her fabric in Canada.

I made up the apron pattern by tracing around and apron that my grandmother made for my sister onto kraft paper. The original version had a front pocket that was sewn with several little horizontal stitching lines to hold crayons or pencils in place. I think this version which has just one line of stitching down the centre to create two pockets is a bit more practical. I have yet to see a kid carrying their crayons in an apron. I filled the pockets with tiny books and flower seeds. I also lined this one so that it can be reversible. I hope she likes it and has lots of fun gardening. cooking, and making things (despite the slightly crooked pocket).

dscf0071.jpg

All of this and William turned five on Sunday! Happy Birthday sweetie!

Leave a Reply

