adventures in sewing: the search for the perfect dress (part one)

Over the next few days I thought I would share some dress patterns that have worked well for me and the adjustments that I made.  It’s been a long haul trying to find options that are not only comfortable and quick to put together but also works with my pear shape. I am so grateful for people like Wendy Mullin and Liesl Gibson for making commercial patterns that work. If you have ever tried to sew from a commercial pattern you know that the sizing can be all over the map! These ladies really know what they are doing and their patterns are a dream to work with.

I began my quest for the perfect dress a few years ago with this one.

Simplicity 3835 is pretty quick to sew, although I did fiddle a bit with the fitting at first. I ended up using different sizes for above and below the waist to make sure it had a good fit. Thank goodness for adjustable patterns! Still it has a bit of ease making it very comfortable. I’ve made it in linen and cotton, in three different lengths and I have to say it is still my go to dress/top pattern when I need a quick fix. I tried the zippered version and the facing version, with and without pockets and various sleeve lengths but this one is my favourite. I like the elastic neckline, shortest sleeves, tunic length without pockets.

Next up, something a little more fitted but just as comfy.

2 responses to “adventures in sewing: the search for the perfect dress (part one)

  1. I like the raglan sleeves…..so much easier to sew than regular sleeves, for me anyhow!! Great job, on all the dresses!

  2. Pingback: adventures in sewing: the search for the perfect dress (part three) | Owl and Pussycat

Leave a Reply

