gluten free muffins. no really, they are good!

I’ve discovered that you are either a muffin person or you aren’t. In our family there are two muffin people and two that go along with us but aren’t really muffin people. These muffins seem to appeal to all of us.

I have to say that this is the best muffin recipe I have ever used. Hands down. Gluten or no gluten. It is also a super kid friendly recipe. Because it’s all done using a scale, the kids can dump various whole grains into a bowl to make their own flour. How cool is that? No need to be too precise. And since there is no gluten there is also no fear of over-mixing.

We have used this flour mix for muffins, biscuits and pancakes. I have made two batches, each a different blend of grains but each equally delicious! I have just substituted it cup for cup into recipes that I have always used. Even my wheat-free wary kids seem to like it. I wish I had taken notes on which grains I used in the mix but the only thing I can remember is that we seem to like almond flour. It gives a nice crumbly texture. Also, I try to avoid buckwheat. The flavour is too strong and the colour is too dark for the little guys. I love that this recipe doesn’t have any gums in it either. They can be expensive, hard to find and I’m still a bit weirded out about eating something called xantham or guar to be honest.

These particular muffins are made with a mashed banana, a handful of walnuts and a handful of chocolate chips added in. I’ve also made them with dried figs and walnuts. They were yummy but didn’t go over as well with the kids. Chocolate seems to make everything a little easier for them to eat don’t you find? I’ve also found that the boys really like to eat food they have made themselves so letting them choose the add-ins from the pantry was a good strategy as well.

If you would like to make some yourself you can find the recipe here. It can also be modified to be dairy free too.

Thanks Shauna for working so hard to create this whole grain flour mix. We love it!

2 responses to “gluten free muffins. no really, they are good!

  1. We love muffins at our house so I will surely try these! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

